0

Hello,

I recently received my first standard test back, which was rejected, with very little feedback.  In fact, only one of my "mistakes" was pointed out (which I strongly disagree with).  If I'm not mistaken, there were allowed up to three minor mistakes before a test is failed, so why aren't these listed?  How much more difficult is it to list the mistakes in the feedback if the reviewer has already found them?  I am a little surprised because I double and triple checked my translation as well as double and triple checking the style guide before I submitted my application, yet I was still rejected.  I know this job is extremely competitive (<4% of testers are accepted), but it still makes me a little suspicious, and I just wish there was a little more feedback so I could see and improve upon my mistakes.  I will be taking the test again soon, and will hopefully get accepted this time.

 

Edit: Here are the full comments I received:

***

Thanks for taking our test.

While the translation reads well and is largely accurate, it contains some errors of meaning, style, and syntax, such as "that we only tolerate with a parent".

As a result, we are rejecting your submission.

Please carefully review the above points and have a look at our translator resources: http://gengo.com/translators/resources/. When you feel ready, we encourage you to retake the test.

***

4 comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Lara Fernandez

    Hi Harrison,

    Thanks for your feedback.

    As a general rule of thumb, we don't provide the entire list of errors for most tests, and it's not a requirement that our LSs provide corrections for these. I see that you've got a general list of what kind of errors you had, so this should already serve as a pointer regarding what types of things to be specially careful with on your next test.

    Good luck on your next try!

    Lara

  • 0
    Avatar
    Harrison

    Of course. I am still curious to this day as to how the reviewer would have liked that phrase translated--"that we only tolerate with a parent"--because it made sense in the context of the rest of the sentence in both the target and original languages. I'm not going to write the rest of the sentence since I can't discuss testing materials, but the sentence already made complete sense how it was in both languages and there was no better alternative.

    But I digress. The reason I am writing this post is because it has been 12 days since I submitted my second test (September 5th) and it is still awaiting review, and I thought that tests were supposed to be reviewed in less than seven days. Could you let me know what is going on or if I need to do anything else right now? Thanks.

    Harrison

  • 0
    Avatar
    Lara Fernandez

    Hi Harrison,

    I've just checked in with the team and you're right, your test is pending review. Ideally we do aim for within 7 days and this is mostly the case, however there may be instances in which our reviewers are unable to make that deadline. Regardless, we should have better communicated about this, and for that, I apologize. The team will be following up and you should receive your test results soon :) In the future, if you experience any issues that you need assistance with, it's always a good idea to email support@gengo.com to get the team to promptly look into it.

    Lara

  • 0
    Avatar
    Harrison

    Good to hear Laura. Thanks for the prompt update. I'm looking forward to seeing my test results.
    Harrison

Please sign in to leave a comment.